Sourcegraph
Amp plan limits and pricing
Coding agent. Paid plans from $10 to $200 a month. Checked October 30, 2026.
How Amp meters usage
Amp tiers cover Amp-hosted orb time (remote machines where agents run) and, on paid tiers, included agent usage. The vendor says: 'Paid tiers include agent usage, orb usage, and every Amp product feature. Included usage resets at the end of each monthly billing period and does not roll over.' Orbs are billed by the minute at size-based hourly rates ($0.08/hour for a1.tiny up to $2.13/hour for a1.3xlarge). An orb pauses 5 minutes after the agent stops working or 20 minutes after your last interaction, whichever comes later, and a paused orb costs nothing. Larger orbs use the minute allowance faster. Model tokens can come from linked ChatGPT, Claude or other subscriptions, or from your own API keys (BYOK), with 'No Amp token fees or limits' on Hobby, Individual and Teams (the free-agent announcement makes an exception for Enterprise). Once included agent usage runs out, you can buy paid credits, charged at the provider's API price with no markup for individuals and non-enterprise workspaces. Purchased credits expire twelve months after purchase. Self-hosted orbs are free on Hobby, Individual and Teams. Since October 29, 2026, Enterprise pays 100% of the standard per-minute price for them.
Hobby
Free · metered as orb minutes (pay-as-you-go)
| Limit | Vendor states | Window | Number | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hosted orb minutes | Pay-as-you-go for Amp-hosted orbs, billed by the minute | stated in words | Amp pricing | |
| Hosted orb rate (a1.tiny, 1 CPU / 2 GB) | $0.08/hour | 0.08 | Orb Sizes | |
| Hosted orb rate (a1.small, 2 CPU / 4 GB) | $0.17/hour | 0.17 | Orb Sizes | |
| Hosted orb rate (a1.medium, 4 CPU / 8 GB) | $0.33/hour | 0.33 | Orb Sizes | |
| Hosted orb rate (a1.large, 8 CPU / 16 GB) | $0.66/hour | 0.66 | Orb Sizes | |
| Hosted orb rate (a1.xxlarge, 16 CPU / 32 GB) | $1.32/hour | 1.32 | Orb Sizes | |
| Self-hosted orbs | Unlimited, free | stated in words | Amp pricing | |
| Model tokens | No Amp token fees or limits (bring your own subscription or keys) | stated in words | Amp pricing | |
| Paid credits (extra model usage) | Charged at provider API prices with no markup; no paid tier needed; purchased credits expire after 12 months | stated in words | Docs Pricing |
Checked 2026-10-30.
Individual Megawatt
$20/mo · metered as orb minutes
| Limit | Vendor states | Window | Number | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hosted orb minutes | 45,000 minutes of orbin' time | month | 45,000 | Amp pricing |
| Included agent (model) usage | Paid tiers include agent usage; amount not stated | month | not published | Docs Pricing |
| Default orb size (personal projects) | a1.small | stated in words | Orb Sizes | |
| Self-hosted orbs | Unlimited, free | stated in words | Amp pricing | |
| Model tokens | No Amp token fees or limits (bring your own subscription or keys) | stated in words | Amp pricing |
Checked 2026-10-30.
Education (Megawatt at 50% off)
For students and teachers, at ampcode.com/edu · metered as orb minutes + monthly credits
| Limit | Vendor states | Window | Number | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly credits for other models | $10 in credits each month | month | 10 | Edu |
| Hosted orb minutes | Orbs included; minute allowance not stated | not published | Edu |
Checked 2026-10-30.
Individual Gigawatt
$200/mo · metered as orb minutes
| Limit | Vendor states | Window | Number | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hosted orb minutes | 480,000 minutes of orbin' time | 1mo | 480,000 | Amp pricing |
| Included agent (model) usage | Paid tiers include agent usage; amount not stated | month | not published | Docs Pricing |
| a1.3xlarge orb access (16 CPU / 44 GB, $2.13/hour) | Available only to Gigawatt and Enterprise | 2.13 | Orb Sizes | |
| Self-hosted orbs | Free on Individual plans | stated in words | Orb Sizes | |
| Model tokens | No Amp token fees or limits (bring your own subscription or keys) | stated in words | Amp pricing |
Checked 2026-10-30.
Teams
No extra charge on top of member tiers · metered as orb minutes
| Limit | Vendor states | Window | Number | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Member tiers | Members can be on Hobby, Megawatt or Gigawatt | stated in words | Amp pricing | |
| Hosted orb minutes | Shared billing and pooled credits; Hobby members use pooled workspace credits for orbs pay-as-you-go | stated in words | Amp pricing | |
| SAML/OIDC SSO | Free for the whole workspace if at least one member is on a paid tier | stated in words | Free Agent | |
| Self-hosted orbs | Free on Teams | stated in words | Orb Sizes | |
| Model tokens | No Amp token fees or limits; shared BYOK & model routing | stated in words | Amp pricing |
Checked 2026-10-30.
Enterprise
Custom · metered as pooled credits
| Limit | Vendor states | Window | Number | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hosted orb minutes | Pooled credits only, no paid user seats; higher quotas and rate limits, figures not stated | not published | Amp pricing | |
| Seats | Pooled credits only, no paid user seats | stated in words | Amp pricing | |
| Self-hosted orbs | 100% of standard price, billed by the minute while connected to a thread (free until October 29, 2026); volume discounts available | stated in words | Orb Sizes | |
| Self-hosted orb standard price (custom sizes) | CPUs × $0.0504/hour + GB memory × $0.0162/hour | stated in words | Orb Sizes | |
| Model tokens | Exception to no BYOK token fees or limits; Enterprise terms not stated | not published | Free Agent | |
| Hosted orb pricing | Shown in project settings; not public | not published | Orb Sizes |
Checked 2026-10-30.
Change log
- 2026-10-30 · Amp: First recorded: 5 planssource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp: metering changed from Amp charges for minutes of Amp-hosted "orb" runner time, not tokens: model usage comes from your own ChatGPT, Claude or other subscriptions or your own API keys (BYOK), with no Amp token fees or limits. Self-hosted orbs are unlimited and free on every tier. to Amp tiers cover Amp-hosted orb time (remote machines where agents run) and, on paid tiers, included agent usage. The vendor says: 'Paid tiers include agent usage, orb usage, and every Amp product feature. Included usage resets at the end of each monthly billing period and does not roll over.' Orbs are billed by the minute at size-based hourly rates ($0.08/hour for a1.tiny up to $2.13/hour for a1.3xlarge). An orb pauses 5 minutes after the agent stops working or 20 minutes after your last interaction, whichever comes later, and a paused orb costs nothing. Larger orbs use the minute allowance faster. Model tokens can come from linked ChatGPT, Claude or other subscriptions, or from your own API keys (BYOK), with 'No Amp token fees or limits' on Hobby, Individual and Teams (the free-agent announcement makes an exception for Enterprise). Once included agent usage runs out, you can buy paid credits, charged at the provider's API price with no markup for individuals and non-enterprise workspaces. Purchased credits expire twelve months after purchase. Self-hosted orbs are free on Hobby, Individual and Teams. Since October 29, 2026, Enterprise pays 100% of the standard per-minute price for them.Re-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Enterprise: Hosted orb pricing is now Shown in project settings; not publicRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Enterprise: Model tokens is now Exception to no BYOK token fees or limits; Enterprise terms not statedRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Enterprise: Seats is now Pooled credits only, no paid user seatsRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Enterprise: Self-hosted orb standard price (custom sizes) is now CPUs × $0.0504/hour + GB memory × $0.0162/hourRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Enterprise: Self-hosted orbs is now 100% of standard price, billed by the minute while connected to a thread (free until October 29, 2026); volume discounts availableRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Individual Gigawatt: Included agent (model) usage is now Paid tiers include agent usage; amount not statedRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Individual Gigawatt: Self-hosted orbs changed from Unlimited, free to Free on Individual plansRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Individual Gigawatt: a1.3xlarge orb access (16 CPU / 44 GB, $2.13/hour) is now Available only to Gigawatt and EnterpriseRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Hobby: Hosted orb minutes changed from Pay as you go for Amp-hosted orbs; rate not listed on the page to Pay-as-you-go for Amp-hosted orbs, billed by the minuteRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Hobby: Hosted orb rate (a1.large, 8 CPU / 16 GB) is now $0.66/hourRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Hobby: Hosted orb rate (a1.medium, 4 CPU / 8 GB) is now $0.33/hourRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Hobby: Hosted orb rate (a1.small, 2 CPU / 4 GB) is now $0.17/hourRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Hobby: Hosted orb rate (a1.tiny, 1 CPU / 2 GB) is now $0.08/hourRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Hobby: Hosted orb rate (a1.xxlarge, 16 CPU / 32 GB) is now $1.32/hourRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Hobby: Paid credits (extra model usage) is now Charged at provider API prices with no markup; no paid tier needed; purchased credits expire after 12 monthsRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Education (Megawatt at 50% off): Hosted orb minutes is now Orbs included; minute allowance not statedRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Education (Megawatt at 50% off): Monthly credits for other models is now $10 in credits each monthRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Education (Megawatt at 50% off): name is now Education (Megawatt at 50% off)source
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Education (Megawatt at 50% off): priceUsd is now $10source
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Individual Megawatt: Default orb size (personal projects) is now a1.smallRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Individual Megawatt: Included agent (model) usage is now Paid tiers include agent usage; amount not statedRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Teams: Hosted orb minutes changed from No extra charge; members sit on Hobby, Megawatt or Gigawatt with shared billing and pooled credits to Shared billing and pooled credits; Hobby members use pooled workspace credits for orbs pay-as-you-goRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Teams: Member tiers is now Members can be on Hobby, Megawatt or GigawattRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Teams: Model tokens is now No Amp token fees or limits; shared BYOK & model routingRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Teams: SAML/OIDC SSO is now Free for the whole workspace if at least one member is on a paid tierRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
- 2026-10-30 · Amp Teams: Self-hosted orbs is now Free on TeamsRe-verification 2026-10-30: wording or newly recorded limit, no figure changedsource
Amp limits: common questions
Answered from the figures above only. Where Sourcegraph publishes no number, the answer says so.
How much does Amp cost per month?
Amp paid plans, as listed on Sourcegraph's pricing page on 2026-10-30: Individual Megawatt $20/mo, Education (Megawatt at 50% off) For students and teachers, at ampcode.com/edu, Individual Gigawatt $200/mo. A free plan is also available.
Does Amp have a free plan?
Yes. The Amp Hobby plan costs nothing. Hosted orb minutes: Pay-as-you-go for Amp-hosted orbs, billed by the minute. Hosted orb rate (a1.tiny, 1 CPU / 2 GB): $0.08/hour. Hosted orb rate (a1.small, 2 CPU / 4 GB): $0.17/hour. Hosted orb rate (a1.medium, 4 CPU / 8 GB): $0.33/hour. Hosted orb rate (a1.large, 8 CPU / 16 GB): $0.66/hour. Hosted orb rate (a1.xxlarge, 16 CPU / 32 GB): $1.32/hour. Self-hosted orbs: Unlimited, free. Model tokens: No Amp token fees or limits (bring your own subscription or keys). Paid credits (extra model usage): Charged at provider API prices with no markup; no paid tier needed; purchased credits expire after 12 months.
How does Amp meter usage?
Amp tiers cover Amp-hosted orb time (remote machines where agents run) and, on paid tiers, included agent usage. The vendor says: 'Paid tiers include agent usage, orb usage, and every Amp product feature. Included usage resets at the end of each monthly billing period and does not roll over.' Orbs are billed by the minute at size-based hourly rates ($0.08/hour for a1.tiny up to $2.13/hour for a1.3xlarge). An orb pauses 5 minutes after the agent stops working or 20 minutes after your last interaction, whichever comes later, and a paused orb costs nothing. Larger orbs use the minute allowance faster. Model tokens can come from linked ChatGPT, Claude or other subscriptions, or from your own API keys (BYOK), with 'No Amp token fees or limits' on Hobby, Individual and Teams (the free-agent announcement makes an exception for Enterprise). Once included agent usage runs out, you can buy paid credits, charged at the provider's API price with no markup for individuals and non-enterprise workspaces. Purchased credits expire twelve months after purchase. Self-hosted orbs are free on Hobby, Individual and Teams. Since October 29, 2026, Enterprise pays 100% of the standard per-minute price for them.
What is the Amp Individual Megawatt usage limit?
Amp Individual Megawatt ($20/mo): Hosted orb minutes per month is "45,000 minutes of orbin' time". Source: Amp pricing, checked 2026-10-30.
What is the Amp Education (Megawatt at 50% off) usage limit?
Amp Education (Megawatt at 50% off) (For students and teachers, at ampcode.com/edu): Monthly credits for other models per month is "$10 in credits each month". Source: Edu, checked 2026-10-30.
What is the Amp Individual Gigawatt usage limit?
Amp Individual Gigawatt ($200/mo): Hosted orb minutes per month is "480,000 minutes of orbin' time". Source: Amp pricing, checked 2026-10-30.
Compare with
- Kiro plan limits6 plans
- Augment Code plan limits3 plans
- ChatGPT + Codex plan limits9 plans
- GitHub Copilot plan limits8 plans
- All 13 tools side by side →
- SaaS usage limits and true cost (Zapier, Make, n8n, APIs) →
- AI voice agents: cost per minute →
- AI video and image credits →
- Search and scraping API pricing for agents →
Amp news
No stories yet. Price and limit changes land in the change log first.
RSS of every limit change